West County Wastewater is governed by a five-member Board of Directors, elected by local citizens. Each Board member represents the geographic area in which they live. Board members serve 4-year terms.

Cheryl Sudduth, President
Board Member Since 2018 – Term Expires December 2022

Director Sudduth is a Senior Negotiator and Government Compliance Officer, currently working in the technology industry. She brings more than 25 years of business and legal experience, serving in a broad array of senior management roles in intellectual property, contracting, legal, compliance, technology, domestic/international trademark and patent registrations and enforcement, government, international contracting, corporate and non-profit governance, personnel management, mergers and acquisitions, business development and strategic management in the commercial, private and public sectors. She regularly designs and presents training and legal updates to senior managers and Human Resources executives and has participated in government consultations and advises multi-national organizations on regulatory compliance. She is a frequent speaker on corporate compliance, intellectual property and diversity matters.

Director Sudduth volunteers with many community organizations, serving on several boards and steering committees, including the Racial Justice Coalition, Immigration Rights Alliance, ACLU, NAACP, Budget Justice Coalition, CAIR, BWOPA, the Sierra Club, Wounded Warriors, AUSD / WCCUSD Policy and Bond Oversight Committees, Girl Scouts, InterFaith Alliance, and several others. She is also very committed to environmental justice and empowering our young people. Director Sudduth regularly mentors youth and young adults and is a frequent speaker on racial and environmental justice, community development, and women and youth empowerment.

Director Sudduth holds dual Bachelor of Science degrees in Cellular and Molecular Biology and Biochemistry from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

Cesar Zepeda, Vice President
Board Member Since 2019 – Term Expires December 2022

David Alvarado, Director

Board Member Since 2016 – Term Expires December 2022

Director Alvarado relocated to the West County area in 2011. He has served on numerous boards and commissions, in which he has served as chair and vice chair. Recently, Director Alvarado served as the Chair of the Planning Commission in the City of San Pablo, where he resides, until November 2016. Director Alvarado earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from UC Berkeley in Political Science and was a mentor to students wishing to attend the university. Currently he serves as Vice Chair of the Measure Q Commission in San Pablo.

Sherry Ann Stanley, Director
Board Member Since 2016 – Term Expires December 2024

Director Sherry Stanley holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from CSU Hayward (CSU, East Bay), and a Juris Doctorate degree (law degree) from the Golden Gate University School of Law where she earned specialization certificates in the areas of Public Interest, Litigation and Criminal Law. She has volunteered for many years with the Boy Scouts of America and was awarded the Scouter of the Year award from the district she served. Director Stanley has been self-employed most of her life and has started several small businesses.

Director Stanley is passionate about environmental responsibility and stewardship, job creation and community education.

Harry Wiener, Director
Board Member Since 2016 – Term Expires December 2024

Director Wiener has a Master of Science degree in Biology from CSU, Long Beach, and a Bachelor of Science in Zoology from Cal Poly, Pomona. He is retired from 30-plus years of consulting and working with Bay Area Fortune 500 Corporations as well as the University of California and the University of Southern California as a Programmer Analyst. He served on the West Berkeley Planning Area Commission and the Berkeley School District Special Tax Advisory Committee. He and his wife live happily in Richmond.



Elections 2020

Three WCW Board of Director positions were up for election as part of the General Election on November 3, 2020. Election results were certified in December 2020, with all three members re-elected to serve on the Board, as follows:

  • Division 1, Cesar Zepeda, term expires December 2022
  • Division 2, Sherry Stanley, term expires December 2024
  • Division 4, Harry Wiener, term expires December 2024

Board members serve a four-year term, unless a member is appointed to fill a mid-term vacancy. In those instances, the appointed position will expire with the next election and the remaining term will be filled by the individual who wins the election.



The WCW Board voted to transition from at-large elections to division-based elections in compliance with the California Voting Rights Act, effective November 2020. In accordance with the law, current Board members will serve their full terms if not up for re-election in 2020.

Public Hearings discussing the composition of voting districts and proposed maps took place in November and December 2019. A final Public Hearing and Board of Directors vote to adopt the maps took place on January 15, 2020. Election divisions are required to have equal population.



The Finance & Administration Committee focuses on items related to WCW finance, staffing, and administration. Examples include budget development, debt issuance, the CAFR (comprehensive annual financial report), compensation and classification changes, director assignments and reimbursements, and other financial, personnel or administrative policy matters. The committee is aligned with the Administrative Services Department.

Meets regularly on the second Monday of each month at 12:00 p.m.

Chair: Vice President Cesar Zepeda
Member: Director Harry Wiener
Alternate: Director David Alvarado



The Infrastructure, Operations & Environmental Committee focuses on items related to WCW infrastructure, operations and environmental issues. Examples include the Capital Improvement Plan, Climate Action Plan, and other operational matters. The committee is aligned with the Infrastructure & Planning Department and the Water Quality & Resource Recovery Department.

Meets regularly on the second Tuesday of each month at 10 a.m.

Chair: Director David Alvarado
Member: Director Harry Wiener
Alternate: Vice President Cesar Zepeda



Ad-Hoc Committees are formed for a specific task or objective, and dissolve after the completion of the task or achievement of the objective. They are appointed by the Board President and meet on an as-needed basis.

There are currently no Ad-Hoc Committees.


The WCW Board of Directors meets the first and third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m., unless otherwise noted. All Board and committee meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas are posted to the website at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.

If a closed session is needed, it will be scheduled before or after the regular open session. Special Board meetings are scheduled on an as-needed basis.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all Board meetings are currently taking place via teleconference. Participation information is available on each agenda.



Board of Directors Policies and Procedures
Board Ethics Policy
Days of Service Policy